Published on: December 13, 2022

ASEAN Consensus

ASEAN Consensus

Why in news? Indonesia wanted India and other countries should “respect” and adhere to ASEAN’s policy on Myanmar rather than taking a “different” path.


  • It was stated that India’s decision to engage the Myanmar military government, which took power in February 2021 after deposing the elected National Unity Government (NUG) and imprisoning thousands of leaders, including Aung San Suu Kyi, could make the 10-member Association of South East Asian Nations’ (ASEAN) efforts toward democracy “less effective.”
  • India and other countries were urged to follow the ASEAN five point consensus,” which calls for an immediate cessation of violence in the country, dialogue among all parties, the appointment of a special envoy, ASEAN humanitarian assistance, and the special envoy’s visit to Myanmar to meet with all parties.

Why it is important to have consensus ?

  • It commits the grouping to working to stop the violence and outlines practical and realistic ways that it can contribute to this goal through mediation and humanitarian assistance.

What is ASEAN five point consensus?

  1. The plan calls for an immediate end to violence in Myanmar
  2. Dialogue among all parties; to find a peaceful solution in the best interests of the people.
  3. the appointment of a special envoy;
  4. Humanitarian assistance by ASEAN and
  5. The special envoy’s visit to Myanmar to meet with all parties.

Why Myanmar is important to India ?

  • India’s ties with Myanmar are important given that they share a porous border with incursions by militants,
  • There is a need to engage the military leadership as regional rivals like China do.


  • It is a political and economic union of 10 member states in Southeast Asia
  • Promotes intergovernmental cooperation and facilitates economic, political, security, military, educational, and sociocultural integration between its members and countries in the Asia-Pacific.
  • The ten stalks of rice in the ASEAN flag and insignia represents the ten Southeast Asian countries bound together in solidarity.
  • Trade blocs : APEC and RCEP
  • Secretariat: Jakarta
  • Establishment: Bangkok Declaration
  • Founding Members: Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand
  • Member Nation : Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam
  • ASEAN Charter:
    • Signed to move closer to an EU-style community”
    • Turn ASEAN into a legal entity and aimed to create a single free-trade area for the region