Published on: November 17, 2022

Infosys Science awards

Infosys Science awards

Why in news?

The Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) announced the winners of the Infosys Prize 2022in six categories – Engineering and Computer Science, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences


  • Suman Chakraborty (Engineering & CS), Sudhir Krishnaswamy (Humanities),
  • Vidita Vaidya (Life Sciences), Mahesh Kakde (Mathematical Sciences), Nissim Kanekar (Physical Sciences), and Rohini Pande (Social Sciences).
  • Sudhir Krishnaswamy and Mahesh Kakde are from Bengaluru

About Infosys Science Awards

  • It is an annual award given to scientists, researchers, engineers and social scientists of Indian origin (not necessarily born in India)
  • Awards ranks among the highest monetary awards in India to recognize research.
  • Prize : Gold medallion, a citation certificate, and prize money of US$100,000 (or its equivalent in Indian Rupees).
  • The prize purse is tax free in the hands of winners in India.
  • In 2008, the prize was jointly awarded by the Infosys Science Foundation and National Institute of Advanced Studies for mathematics.
  • 2009- Three additional categories were added: Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences.
  • 2010 – Engineering and Computer Science was added as a category. In 2012, a sixth category, Humanities, was added.