Published on: June 1, 2021



buy neurontin no prescription What is the news : Justice Arun Mishra took charge as chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC).


    Selection of                 Chairman      Members of committee       Term and removal

Appointed by the President on the recommendations of a six-member committee

1.  Prime Minister (head)

2. Speaker of the Lok Sabha

3. Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha

4. Leaders of the Opposition in both the Houses of Parliament

5. Union Home Minister.

They hold office for  term of

a. Three years

b. Until they attain the age of 70 years whichever is earlier.

About the Organisation

  • Was established on 12 October, 1993 under the Protection of Human Rights Act (PHRA), 1993
  • In conformity with the Paris Principles, adopted at the first international workshop on national institutions for the promotion and protection of human rights held in Paris in October 1991, and endorsed by the General Assembly of the United Nations by its Regulations 48/134 of 20 December, 1993.
  • Is an embodiment of India’s concern for the promotion and protection of human rights.
  • Functions : As stated in Section 12 of the Act and apart from enquiry into complaints of violation of human rights or negligence in the prevention of such violation by a public servant, the Commission also studies treaties and international instruments on human rights and make recommendations for their effective implementation to the Government.

Note : In 2019, the Parliament had amended the Protection of Human Rights Act, 1993 to revise the eligibility criteria for the post of chairperson of NHRC and state human rights commissions. While only a retired Chief Justice of India could be appointed as NHRC chairperson earlier, the amended law allowed a judge of the Supreme Court to be considered for the position.

Section 2(1)(d) of the PHRA defines Human Rights as the rights relating to life, liberty, equality and dignity of the individual guaranteed by the Constitution or embodied in the International Covenants and enforceable by courts in India.