Published on: November 25, 2022

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards

Why in news?

The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India announced the National Adventure Awards called “Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award” (TNNAA) for the year 2021.


  • The award is given in four categories namely, Land Adventure, Water Adventure, Air Adventure and Life Time Achievement
  • National Selection Committee was constituted under the chairpersonship of Secretary (Youth Affairs).


  • Naina Dhakad- Land Adventure
  • Shri Shubham Dhananjay Vanmali- Water Adventure
  • Group Captain Kunwar Bhawani Singh Samyal- Life Time Achievement

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award

  • Formerly known as the National Adventure Awards is the highest adventure sports honour of the Republic of India.
  • Parent Ministry: Awarded annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.
  • Award : A bronze statuette of Tenzing Norgay a cash prize of Rs 15 lakh
  • First awarded: 1994
  • The status of this award is considered to be equivalent to the Arjuna Award