Published on: January 13, 2023

Aspirational Block Programme

Aspirational Block Programme

Why in news? Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched the government’s Aspirational Block Programme (ABP), during the 2nd National Conference of Chief Secretaries


  • It will be on the line of Aspirational district programme that will enable holistic development in those areas that require added assistance.
  • Programme will cover 500 districts across 31 states and Union Territories
  • Over half of these blocks are in 6 states—Uttar Pradesh (68 blocks), Bihar (61), Madhya Pradesh (42), Jharkhand (34), Odisha (29) and West Bengal (29). However, states can add more blocks to the programme later
  • Aimed at improving the performance of under developmental blocks on various parameters

About Aspirational District Programme

  • Anchored by NITI Aayog
  • Target : 112 Aspirational Districts (AD) across 27 states
  • Aim : Vision of a New India by 2022 to improve India’s ranking under the Human Development Index (HDI), raising living standards of its citizens and ensuring inclusive growth of all.
  • Focus: On the strength of each district, identifying low-hanging fruits for immediate improvement and measuring progress by ranking districts on a monthly basis.

Composite indicators

  • Health and Nutrition, Education, Agriculture & Water Resources, Financial Inclusion & Skill development and Basic Infrastructure which have an impact on HDI.
  • Ranking is based on the incremental progress made across 49 Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) under 5 broad socio-economic themes