Published on: October 16, 2021



What is in news : The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has extended the jurisdiction of the Border Security Force (BSF) up to 50 km inside the international borders in Punjab, West Bengal and Assam.


  • Raised in 1965 after the India-Pakistan war.
  • One of the five Central Armed Police Forces of Union of India under the administrative control of the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA).
  • Other Central Armed Police Forces are: Assam Rifles (AR), Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), Central Industrial Security Force (CISF), Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), National Security Guards (NSG) and Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB).
  • 65-lakh force is deployed along the Pakistan and Bangladesh borders.
  • Deployed on Indo-Pakistan International Border, Indo-Bangladesh International Border, Line of Control (LoC) along with Indian Army and in Anti-Naxal Operations.
  • Has an air wing, marine wing, an artillery regiment, and commando units.
  • Defending Sir Creak in Arabian Sea and Sundarban delta in the Bay of Bengal with its state of art fleet of Water Crafts.
  • Instrumental role in helping state administration in maintaining Law and Order and conduct of peaceful election.
  • Has been crusading against natural calamity to save precious human lives as and when warranted.
  • Contributes dedicated services to the UN peacekeeping Mission by sending a large contingent of its trained manpower every year.
  • Been termed as the First Line of Defence of Indian Territories.

What kind of powers can the BSF exercise in this jurisdiction?

  • Its jurisdiction has been extended only in respect of the powers it enjoys under Criminal Procedure Code (CrPC), Passport (Entry into India) Act, 1920 and the Passport Act, 1967. BSF currently has powers to arrest and search under these laws.
  • It also has powers to arrest, search and seize under the NDPS Act, Arms Act, Customs Act and certain other laws. Its jurisdiction under these laws has not been changed, meaning its powers under these will continue to be only up to 15 km inside the border in Punjab, Assam and West Bengal, and will remain as far as 80 km in Gujarat.