Published on: May 24, 2023

G-7 Hiroshima summit

G-7 Hiroshima summit

Why in news? The annual G7 was held from May 19 to 21 in Hiroshima, Japan and was attended by Indian PM Narendra Modi and British PM Rishi Sunak


  • Various issues of global importance like the Ukraine war, generative AI, economy, military relations and more were discussed
  • Host country: Japan, the presidency of G-7 summits revolves among the seven members. Two representatives of the European Union also join.
  • This year, the leaders of Australia, Brazil, Comoros, Cook Islands, India, Indonesia, South Korea and Vietnam were invited

Why Hiroshima was chosen?

  • Hiroshima, Japan is the venue for the 2023 G7 Summit. Hiroshima has several historic implications as it was the first city to be bombed with a nuclear weapon during World War II. Hiroshima symbolises the grave threat of atomic weapons, the effects of wars and steps towards world peace.

What is the G-7 Summit?

  • The Group of Seven is an informal group of leading industrialised nations. It consists of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States.
  • As is customary in recent years, leaders from some non-G-7 countries and international organizations will also participate in some sessions.
  • The leaders discuss a wide range of issues, including economic policy, security, climate change, energy and gender.
  • The first summit was in 1975, when France hosted what was then a Group of Six meeting to discuss tackling a recession that followed an Arab oil embargo. Canada became the seventh member a year later. Russia joined to form the G-8 in 1998 but was expelled after Moscow’s 2014 annexation of Crimea.
  • The G-7 countries’ share of global economic activity has shrunk to about 30% from roughly 50 per cent four decades ago.