Published on: November 14, 2022

Jivatram Bhagwandas Kripalani

Jivatram Bhagwandas Kripalani

Why in news?  

PM Modi paid the tribute to Acharya Kripalani on his Jayanti

About J.B Kripalani

  • He was popularly known as Acharya Kripalani, an Indian politician, noted particularly for holding the presidency of the Indian National Congress during the transfer of power in 1947.
  • Kripalani was an environmentalist, mystic and independence activist also a Gandhian socialist
  • He was a familiar figure to generations of dissenters, from the Non-Cooperation Movements of the 1920s to the Emergency of the 1970s.
  • He prominently participated in the organisation of the Salt Satyagraha and the Quit India Movement.
  • He served in the interim government of India (1946–1947) and the Constituent Assembly of India.
  • Party : Founder of the Kisan Mazdoor Praja Party
  • It subsequently merged with the Socialist Party of India to form the Praja Socialist Party.
  • Kripalani moved the first-ever No confidence motion on the floor of the Lok Sabha in August 1963, immediately after the disastrous India-China War.
  • He was generally considered to be, along with Vinoba Bhave, the leader of what remained of the Gandhian faction
  • Autobiography : My Times