Published on: December 20, 2022

North Eastern Council

North Eastern Council

Why in news? Prime Minister Narendra Modi attended the golden jubilee celebration of the North Eastern Council in Shillong, Meghalaya.


  • The “GOLDEN FOOTPRINTS”, a commemorative volume chronicling NEC’s contribution towards the development of the North Eastern Region over the last fifty years, was released
  • Inaugurated various important projects of the North Eastern Region including Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Shillong, NEC projects and Meghalaya state projects and lay foundation stones for some other projects.
  • Prime Minister also dedicated 4G towers of Meghalaya.

About North Eastern Council

  • Nature : Statutory advisory body
  • Act : North Eastern Council Act 1971
  • Member states: Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and Sikkim
  • Council Members: Chief Ministers and Governors representing state with Chairman and three Members who are nominated by the President of India.
  • Latest added Member: Sikkim (2002).
  • Headquarters : Shillong and functions
  • Parent Ministry: Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region (DONER)
  • Funding : Mainly with the Central Government
  • Functions:
  • To discuss any matter in which some or all of the States represented in the Council have common interest

Advise the Central Government and the Governments of the States regarding –

  • Matter of common interest in the field of economic and social planning
  • Matter concerning inter-State Transport and Communications
  • Relating to Power or Flood-control projects of common interest.