Published on: October 26, 2021



What is in news : Prem Bhatia awards for journalism was recently presented

About the awards

  • The Prem Bhatia Memorial Trust confers the awards for outstanding journalism.
  • The trust had instituted the awards in 1995 in the memory of journalist Prem Bhatia, who died that year.
  • The main objective of the Trust is to propagate the values that Prem Bhatia stood for: objective reporting, fearless pursuit of the truth and a commitment to improving the standards of journalism in India

Who won in 2021

  • The team of Dainik Bhaskar, which had extensively covered the under-reporting of Covid-19 deaths in Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Gujarat, has won the Prem Bhatia Award for outstanding political reporting.
  • Vaishnavi Rathore of The Bastion digital magazine won the environmental and developmental reporting award for her “wide-ranging coverage of environmental degradation issues and displacement of Adivasis”
  • Former winners of the award include The Indian Express Executive Editors P Vaidyanathan Iyer and Ritu Sarin, Dipankar Ghose and Sankarshan Thakur