Published on: September 18, 2021



What is in news : Indian Railways took a leap in advancement of Skill India Mission by launching the “Rail Kaushal Vikas Yojana (RKVY)” under the aegis of “Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana (PMKVY)”.

Features :

  • Under Rail Kaushal Vikas Yojana, training will be provided to 50,000 candidates over a period of three years.
  • The training will initially be provided to 1000 candidates in four trades -Welder, Electrician, Fitter and Machinist. The training will include basic initial training of 100 hours.
  • A total of 75 Railway Training Institutes have been shortlisted from across the country to provide training in the mentioned disciplines to cover youth from all over the country.
  • The training programs in other trades will be added by zonal railways and production units based on regional demands and needs assessment.
  • The training will be completely free of cost and the participants will be selected based on the applications received online.
  • The selection process will follow a transparent mechanism based on marks in matriculation.
  • A nodal website will be developed as a single source of information regarding the training programs, notification inviting application, selected candidates lists, selection results, final assessment and study material.
  • All trainees will have to undergo a standardized assessment and will be awarded certificates in their respective trade by the National Rail & Transportation Institute after completion of their training.
  • They will also be given relevant toolkits that would help them utilize their learnings and enhance their capacity for employability in various industries.


Pradhan Mantri Kaushal Vikas Yojana

  • Launched in 2015
  • Under Ministry of Skill Development & Entrepreneurship (MSDE)
  • Implemented by National Skill Development Corporation.
  • Objective: is to enable a large number of Indian youth to take up industry-relevant skill training that will help them in securing a better livelihood.
  • Individuals with prior learning experience or skills will also be assessed and certified under Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).