Published on: October 4, 2023

Sankalp Saptaah

Sankalp Saptaah

Why in news? Prime Minister launched week-long ‘Sankalp Saptaah’ at Bharat Mandapam for aspirational blocks


  • Sankalp Saptaah will be observed in all of the 500 Aspirational Blocks across 329 districts in the country.
  • It is for effective implementation of Aspirational Blocks Programme and to prepare an effective block development strategy
  • It aims to improve governance at the block level in order to enhance the quality of life of citizens.
  • It starts from 3rd October till 9th October 2023

How is the programme is implemented ?

  • Chintan shivirs were organised at village and block levels across the country.
  • The ‘Sankalp Saptaah’ is a culmination of these chintan shivirs.
  • Each day in programme is dedicated to a specific development theme on which all Aspirational Blocks will work.
  • Themes include Sampoorna Swasthya(Health), Suposhit Pariwaar(Nutritious family), Swachhta Krishi(Agriculture), Shiksha(Education) and Samridhi Diwas(Prosperity day)
  • The last day of the week will be a celebration of the work conducted during the entire week as ‘Sankalp Saptaah – Samavesh Samaroh’.
  • Programme stress on optimum utilisation of resources, convergence and public participation for development at the grassroots level.

About Aspirational Block Programme(ABP)

  • ABP announced Union Budget 2022-23
  • Launched on 2023 by Government of India and is anchored by NITI Aayog.
  • It is a nationwide programme focuses on improving governance to enhance the quality of life of citizens in the underdeveloped blocks of India
  • Programme will converge existing schemes, defining outcomes, and monitoring them on a constant basis.
  • The programme covers 500 blocks across 27 States and 4 Union Territories.

About Aspirational District Programme

  • Government of India has launched the ‘Transformation of Aspirational Districts’ initiative in 2018 with a vision of a New India by 2022
  • It focus is to improve India’s ranking under the Human Development Index (HDI), raising living standards of its citizens and ensuring inclusive growth of all.
  • A total of 112 Aspirational Districts (AD) across 27 states have been identified by NITI AAYOG
  • Program focuses on the strength of each district, identifying low-hanging fruits for immediate improvement and measuring progress by ranking districts on a monthly basis.

Composite Indicator for selection of district

  • Health & Nutrition (30%)
  • Education (30%)
  • Agriculture & Water Resources (20%)
  • Financial Inclusion & Skill Development (10%)
  • Basic Infrastructure (10%)

Broad contours

  • Convergence (of Central & State Schemes)
  • Collaboration (of Central, State level Nodal Officers & District Collectors)
  • Competition among districts through monthly delta ranking (available on the Champions of Change Dashboard), in the spirit of competitive and cooperative federalism.