Published on: October 17, 2023

Saraswati Samman

Saraswati Samman

Why in news? Tamil writer Sivasankari presented with the ‘Saraswati Samman’ 2022 for her book of memoirs Surya Vamsam.


  • Sponsored by-K. K. Birla Foundation
  • Launch-1991
  • First winner-Harivansh Rai Bachchan
  • Features
    • It is an annual award for outstanding prose or poetry literary works in any of the 22 languages of India listed in Schedule VIII of the Constitution of India
    • It consists of Rs15,00,000, a citation and a plaque
    • Candidates are selected from literary works published in the previous ten years by a panel that included scholars and former award winners
    • Previous winner was Ram Darash Mishra for “Main to Yahan Hun” (Poetry) in Hindi

Additional Information

  • In 2014, Veerappa Moily was awarded for “Ramayana Mahanveshanam” (Poetry) in Kannada
  • In 2010 S.L.Byrappa was awarded for ”Mandra” novel