Published on: November 15, 2021




29th meeting of the Southern Zonal Council was recently held


  • Statutory bodies
  • Established under the States Reorganisation Act 1956
  • Only deliberative and advisory bodies.
  • Aim: to promote interstate cooperation and coordination.
  • There are five Zonal councils namely:
    • The Northern Zonal Council – Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, National Capital Territory of Delhi and Union Territory of Chandigarh.
    • The Central Zonal Council – Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh.
    • The Eastern Zonal Council – Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa, and West Bengal.
    • The Western Zonal Council – Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra and the Union Territories of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli.
    • The Southern Zonal Council – Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and the Union Territory of Puducherry.
  • The North Eastern States i.e. (i) Assam (ii) Arunachal Pradesh (iii) Manipur (iv) Tripura (v) Mizoram (vi) Meghalaya (vii) Sikkim and (viii) Nagaland are not included in the Zonal Councils and their special problems are looked after by the North Eastern Council, set up under the North Eastern Council Act, 1972.
  • Composition:
    • Chairman – The Union Home Minister
    • Vice Chairman – The Chief Ministers of the States included in each zone act as Vice-Chairman of the Zonal Council for that zone by rotation, each holding office for a period of one year at a time.
    • Members– Chief Minister and two other Ministers as nominated by the Governor from each of the States and two members from Union Territories included in the zone.
    • Advisers– One person nominated by the Planning Commission (which has been replaced by NITI Ayog now) for each of the Zonal Councils, Chief Secretaries and another officer/Development Commissioner nominated by each of the States included in the Zone.
    • Union Ministers are also invited to participate in the meetings of Zonal Councils depending upon necessity.