Published on: September 13, 2021



What is in news : British teenager Emma Raducanu becomes the first British woman in 44 years to win a Slam crown in US Open finals

Grand Slam Tournaments

These are the four most important annual tennis events and each tournament is played for about two weeks.

It consists of:

  • Australian Open
    • It takes place in mid-January
    • Played in hard courts.
  • French Open
    • It is also known as the Roland-Garros de Paris.
    • It takes place in May and June.
    • Played on clay court.
  • Wimbledon
    • It takes place in June and July.
    • Played on a grass court.
  • US Open
    • It takes place in August and September.
    • Played in hard courts.
  • Wimbledon is relatively older than the rest (1877), followed by the US (1881), French (1891) and the Australian (1905).
  • Only Wimbledon was a major before 1924–25, when all the four became designated Grand Slam tournaments.