Published on: December 28, 2021


NATIONAL SECURITY ADVISER NEWS Vikram Misri former Ambassador to China has been appointed Deputy National Security Adviser


  • Executive government agency
  • Tasked with advising the Prime Minister’s Office on matters of national security and strategic interest.
  • Established by the former Prime Minister of India Atal Bihari Vajpayee on 19 November 1998
  • Brajesh Mishra as the first National Security Advisor.
  • Prior to the formation of the NSC, these activities were overseen by the Principal Secretary to the preceding Prime Minister.
  • Members –
    • National Security Advisor (NSA
    • Deputy National Security Advisors
    • Ministers of Defence, External Affairs, Home, Finance of the Government of India
    • Vice Chairman of the NITI Aayog are members of the National Security Council.
  • PM can chair the meeting of NSC (for eg – PM chaired the meeting of NSC Post Pulwama to discuss heightened tension with Pakistan).
  • Other members may be invited to attend its monthly meetings, as and when it is required.


  • The NSC is the apex body of the three-tiered structure of the national security management system in India.
  • The three tiers are the Strategic Policy Group, the National Security Advisory Board and a secretariat from the Joint Intelligence Committee.