Published on: January 26, 2023

Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar

Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar

Why in news? Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar-2023 conferred upon 11 children by President of India


  • The award was formerly called the National Child Award for Exceptional Achievement, is India’s highest civilian honour for children
  • It is awarded annually by the Ministry of Women and Child Development.

Categories :

  • Excellence in six categories that is Art & Culture, Bravery, Innovation, Scholastic, Social Service and Sports, which deserve national recognition.


  • Each awardee of PMRBP is given a medal, a cash prize of Rs.1 Lakh and a Certificate

The award has two categories:

  • Bal Shakti Puraskar: Awarded to Indian citizens under the age of 18 for outstanding achievement in innovation, scholastic achievements, social service, arts and culture, bravery, or sports
  • Bal Kalyan Puraskar: To individuals or organisations that have made outstanding contributions in child development, child protection, or child welfare


  • The Bal Kalyan Puraskar previously the National Child Welfare Awards, was instituted by the Ministry of Women and Child Development in 1979
  • The Bal Shakti Puraskar, previously the National Child Award, was instituted by the NGO Indian Council for Child Welfare in 1996.
  • In 2018, the two awards were renamed and combined into the Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar, administered by the Ministry of Women and Child Development.