Published on: June 1, 2022



Why in news?

Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman filed her nomination for the Rajya Sabha election scheduled to be held on June 10


  • A candidate requires a minimum of 45.2 votes to win the polls from the 224-member House.

Process of Rajya Sabha Election

  • The representatives of the States and of the Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha are elected by the method of indirect election. The representatives of each State and two Union territories are elected by the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of that State and by the members of the Electoral College for that Union Territory, as the case may be, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote.
  • The Rajya Sabha seat quota for each state is fixed as per Schedule 4 of the constitution. Elections to 1/3 of these seats occur every 2 years.