Published on: September 16, 2023

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Prizes

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Prizes

Why in news? Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) prize winners for 2022 were recently announced


  • Awards were announced in CSIR-NIScPR’s One Week One Lab Programme.
  • Usually prizes are announced on September 26 CSIR’s Foundation Day and awards were last announced in 2021
  • Since its inception in 1958, only 19 women scientists have been the recipients of the SSB award.

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) prize

  • Awarded for Research science in India
  • Presented by Council of Scientific and Industrial Research
  • First awarded – 1958
  • Features
    • It is given annually for notable and outstanding research, applied or fundamental, in biology, chemistry, environmental science, engineering, mathematics, medicine, and physics.
    • The award is named after the founder Director of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar
    • Any citizen of India engaged in research in any field of science and technology up to the age of 45 years is eligible for the prize.
    • The prize is awarded on the basis of contributions made through work done in India only during the five years preceding the year of the prize
  • Prize
    • It comprises a citation, a plaque, and a cash award of Rs5 lakh.
    • In addition, recipients also receive Rs. 15,000 per month up to the age of 65 years.