Published on: October 15, 2022

Tana Movement

Tana Movement

Why in news?

The Ministry of Culture released the third Comic book on stories of 20 Tribal Freedom Fighters at Tiranga Utsav celebration in New Delhi.


  • Tana Bhagat Movement (1914-1920) was a movement in Chhotanagpur area of British India against the policies of the local British authorities and exploitative business practices of local zamindars, mostly by Oraon people.
  • The population opposed the taxes imposed on them by the British colonial administration, staging a Satyagraha (civil disobedience movement) years before Mahatma Gandhi’s similar movement against British rule.
  • They opposed the zamindars, the banias, the Muslims, Christian missionaries, and the British. Tana Bhagats are followers of Mahatma Gandhi, and believes in Ahimsa (non-violence)