Published on: February 16, 2023

UNSC membership

UNSC membership

Why in news? India and Bangladesh agreed to support each other’s non-permanent membership at the UN Security Council.


  • Bangladesh as the pivot of India’s ‘Neighbourhood First Policy’ and a key partner of its ‘Act East Policy’
  • India’s 2021-22 non-permanent membership at the UNSC ended last December and another stint is expected in 2028-29.
  • It is understood that internal discussion is under way in Dhaka for a possible non-permanent stint for Bangladesh at the UNSC during 2030-31.

About non-permanent UNSC membership

  • Along with the five permanent members, the Security Council of the United Nations has temporary members that hold their seats on a rotating basis by geographic region.
  • Non-permanent members may be involved in global security briefings.
  • In its first two decades, the Security Council had six non-permanent members, in 1965, the number of non-permanent members was expanded to ten.
  • These non-permanent members are elected by the United Nations General Assembly for two-year terms starting on 1 January, with five replaced each year.
  • To be approved, a candidate must receive at least two-thirds of all votes cast for that seat.
  • A retiring member is not eligible for immediate re-election.


  • The G4 nations, comprising Brazil, Germany, India, and Japan, are four countries which support each other’s bids for permanent seats on the United Nations Security Council.