Published on: June 16, 2022



Why in news?

Former Karnataka High Court judge Bhimanagouda Sanganagouda Patil was sworn in as the Lokayukta of Karnataka on June 15.


  • Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot administered the oath of office to Justice Patil at a ceremony in Raj Bhavan, Bengaluru.


  • The Karnataka Lokayukta Act 1984 for investigating into allegations or grievances in respect of administrative actions relatable to matters specified in List II or List III of the 7th Schedule to the Constitution of India.
  • The Act provides for the appointment of a Lokayukta and one or more Upalokayuktas to investigate and report on allegations or grievances relating to the conduct of public servants.The public servants who are covered by the Act include:-

(1) Chief Minister;

(2) All other Ministers and Members of the State Legislature;

(3) All officers of the State Government;

(4) Chairman, Vice Chairman of local authorities, statutory bodies or Corporations established by or under any law of the State Legislature, including Co-operative Societies;

(5) Persons in the service of Local Authorities, Corporations owned or controlled by the State Government, a company in which not less than 50% of the shares are held by the State Government, Societies registered under the State Registration Act, Co-operative Societies and Universities established by or under any law of the Legislature.


  • A person to be appointed as the Lokayukta shall be a person who has held the office of a Judge of the Supreme Court or that of a Chief Justice of a High Court or a person who has held the office of a Judge of a High Court for not less than 10 years.
  • A person to be appointed as Upalokayukta shall be a person who has held the office of a Judge of a High Court for not less than 5 years.
  • Lokayukta and Upalokayukta are appointed by the Governor on the advice tendered by Chief Minister in consultation with the Chief Justice of the High Court of Karnataka, Chairman, Karnataka Legislative Council, the Speaker, Karnataka Legislative Assembly, the Leader of the opposition in the Karnataka Legislative Council and the Leader of the opposition in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly.
  • As per Rule 6 of Karnataka Lokayukta Rules, 1985, the conditions of service of Lokayukta shall be on par with those applicable to the Chief Justice of India and the conditions of service of Upalokayukta shall be on part with those applicable to a Judge of a High Court.
  • Institution of Karnataka Lokayukta consists of Enquiry Wing, Technical Audit Cell and Police Wing. The Enquiry Wing consists of judicial officers and Prosecutors/Presenting Officers. The Technical Audit Cell consists of Engineers and Auditors who conduct investigation referred to them by Lokayukta/Upalokayuktas in the matters which require expert examination such as allegations of execution of substandard works by the public servants, misappropriation of money etc. The Police Wing deals with the cases registered under the Prevention of Corruption Act-1988. It also assists the Lokayukta/Upalokayuktas in conducting investigation into the complaints registered under the provisions of the Karnataka Lokayukta Act, 1984 as and when referred to it by the Lokayukta/Upalokayuktas.
  • The Act also empowers the Lokayukta and Upalokayukta to initiate suo-moto investigations in respect of the public grievances and allegations. In large number of cases having public interest, Lokayukta and Upalokayuktas have initiated suo-moto investigations and thereby appropriate steps are being taken to redress the grievance of general public.