Published on: May 9, 2023

Tungnath temple

Tungnath temple

Why in news? Tungnath temple, the third of the five Panchkedars of Uttarakhand, will be declared a national monument.


  • Tungnath Temple is situated at an altitude of 12800 feet.
  • Located in Rudraprayag district
  • It is the only ancient ‘Shivalaya’ of its kind located at the highest point above sea level in Asia.
  • It was built in the North Indian style of architecture and has a dozen shrines of other Gods surrounding the temple.

What are Panch Kedars?

  • Panch Kedar is a group of five sacred shrines of Lord Shiva located in the Garhwal Himalayas, Uttarakhand.
  • The five temples are the Kedarnath Temple ,the Tungnath Temple, the Rudranath Temple, the Madhyamaheshwar Temple or Madmaheshwar and the Kalpeshwar Temple.

What are Monuments of National Importance (MNI)?

  • National ancient Monuments are defined under the Ancient Monument and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act,1958.
  • The Act defines Ancient Monument as any structure or monument or any cave, rock sculpture, an inscription that is of historical, or archaeological interest.
  • The Central Government is authorised to maintain, protect and promote the monuments.
  • A monument or a site is declared to be of National Importance by the Archaeological Survey of India provided it meets the following requirements:
  • The monument or archaeological site is not less than 100 years old.
  • It has special historical, archaeological or artistic interest, making it worthy of declaration as national importance.
  • It qualifies under specified provisions of definition of the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958.
  • The interested public does not have major objections to such declaration.
  • The authenticity and integrity of the ancient monument or archaeological site and remains have not been damaged.
  • It is free from major encumbrances.